Sadie MacPhail

In Member Spotlight by admin

Name: Sadie MacPhail
Horse: Sheza Chocolate Kat (aka. “Frosty”) 2013 bay roan mare
Age: 15
Division: Youth

When did you start riding?
I started taking regular riding lessons when I was six and got my first quarter horse, a retired lesson horse named “Easy”.

How did horses come into your life?
We’ve always had horses in our family and currently we have a few Paints and Quarter Horses at our farm at home. Frosty and I have been partners since 2018 with coaching and training by Jamie Gardy.

What is your previous riding experience?
Before I started showing at Area 3, I competed with “Rocky” at the Ontario Paint Horse Club shows, and at local fairs and club shows (North River Riders).

What classes do you show in?
The classes I show in are halter, showmanship, equitation, hunter under saddle, trail, horsemanship, and ranch riding. I tried out ranch riding for the first-time last year and really enjoyed it!

What awards did you receive this past year?
Awards I won in the past year include High Point Level 1 Youth and High Point Rookie Youth at Summer Circuit, and High Point Rookie Youth at the Summer Finale show. I was also reserve champion in equitation, high scoring overall novice, and high scoring novice equitation in the OAQHA Challenge. I would really like to thank my parents for supporting me in my equine adventures, my coach Jamie Gardy, as well as the team at Gardy Training Centre.

What does the future hold for you and your show partner?
We are hoping to have a fuller show season this year in Ontario (and maybe another trip to the Quarter Horse Congress in the Fall).

What was life like during the pandemic?
Throughout all the ups and downs of the past two years I was grateful to have horses as a steady influence and constant in my life. They still need to be fed, cared for and exercised despite COVID.

Anything unique or funny that happened to you at a horse show?
The first time I took Frosty in a trail class, we backed over and stomped on the flowers, and made the box look like a game of pick up sticks! Thank goodness we’ve gotten better since then.

What do you do outside of riding and looking after your horse?
I enjoy music and play the trumpet in stage band at my high school, and have enjoyed being part of my high school basketball, alpine ski and tennis teams. I am also a member of numerous 4H clubs in my area. For the past few years I have worked during the summer months at a local berry farm, and weekends during the winter at Gardy Training Centre in addition to helping out my parents at their garden Centre.